Solihull Symphony Orchestra is a lively and enthusiastic group of non-professional musicians who enjoy taking on the challenge of a diverse and varied repertoire. Our members span an age range from under 18 to over 80. Since September 2013, Jon Malaxetxebarria has been our Music Director and Principal Conductor.

The orchestra began life as an evening class in Solihull, becoming Knowle Sinfonia in 1990 with the late Malcolm Peters as its conductor. Martin Leigh became the orchestra’s first professional Music Director in 2001.

In January 2005, the orchestra changed its name to the Solihull Symphony Orchestra.


Membership of the orchestra is by subscription and is subject to conditions as described in the Rules and Constitution. There are no formal auditions or entry requirements, although players will normally be expected to have had some orchestral experience. However, a willingness to learn and a commitment to attend Tuesday evening rehearsals regularly are equally important.

Continue reading “Membership”

Our Next Concert

Saturday 27 November 2021, 15:30

Shirley Methodist Church, 257 Stratford Road, Solihull, B90 3AL

Conductor: Jon Malaxetxebarria
Piano: Carla Fernandez-Boix

Mendelssohn – Overture, The Fair Melusine
Schumann – Piano Concerto
Beethoven – Symphony No 7

Venue location | Poster A4 | BUY TICKETS

Join us for what will be our first concert for eighteen months!

Mendelssohn’s overture, inspired by a long forgotten opera is less well known than some of his others, but well worth a hearing.

Carla Fernandez-Boix, who has played Rachmaninoff and Tchaikovsky concertos with us before makes a welcome return visit.

And Beethoven called his Seventh Symphony a return to life after a long period of convalescence – so it’s ideally suited to these times!

Future Concert Dates

see Tickets page


Rehearsals are held every Tuesday evening from 19.30 until 21.45 during term time, with at least three concert performances each year. In addition our occasional Rising Stars concerts provide an opportunity for talented young local musicians to perform with the orchestra.

If you are interesting in joining, would like to buy tickets or can help us to promote our concerts please contact us. Or why not subscribe to our free mailing list?

Committee 2021-22

Chair :  David Evans  ~ double bass
Treasurer :  David Roper ~ 1st violin
Membership :  Louise Robertson  ~ cello
Librarian :  Marina Battey ~ 1st violin
Publicity and Social Media :  Manisha Chauhan  ~ 1st violin
Concert Manager :  John Maxwell ~ 2nd violin
Orchestra Manager:  Stephen Mayes ~ horn

Music Director : Jon Malaxetxebarria